The Help

It is rare that I enjoy a movie as much as a book. Understandably it is difficult to capture all the details of the written word on the big screen. But this is not the case with The Help written by Kathryn Stockett and adapted as a movie by Tate Taylor. The Help takes place in Jackson, Mississippi in the early 1960s.  The movie centers on Skeeter, played by Emma Stone as she tries to pursue a writing career. The topic she strikes on to write about is the relationship between the maids and their white employers.  The principal maid is Aibileen played by Viola Davis, who, after losing her son and raising 17 white children, decides to take the risk associated with this controversial of a subject.  She brings a number of other maids into the project.  The movie provides an excellent look into the lives of those living in the early 60s. It is touching, heartwarming and funny and definitely one of the best movies I have seen in some time.

– Kelly

“You is kind. You is smart. You is important.” Kathryn Stockett,  The Help.

7 responses to “The Help

  1. Kelly,
    I loved the book until the end – or should I say lack of. I felt it wasn’t finished. I was pissed off that the author left us speculating. I want to know more about what happened to Aibileen and Minnie – happy or sad. Don’t know if I want to watch the movie cause I heard it leaves you feeling the same way. What’s your thoughts Kelly?

    • I really enjoyed the book too! But I also thought the ending was “blah”. I really wanted to know more too! Still have yet to see the movie.

  2. I watched the movie over Christmas as well and loved it. I haven’t read the book. I actually appreciated that the end is real, but agree it does leave you wanting more.

  3. People loved this book/movie….wonder about a follow-up?

  4. I know what you mean about the ending. I find when I watch a movie after reading the book I am constantly comparing to see if it is the same. I did it somewhat this time but then just got caught up in all the characters. The costuming and sets from the early 60s were also great. I think you should watch it.

  5. I received the book for Christmas and just finished it this morning. I, too, hope Kathryn Stockett writes some more about these strong women. I can imagine my own ending but I prefer to see it in print.

  6. Maybe the lack of an ending opens the possibility for a sequel? Perhaps there’s too much in the stories of each woman to squash it all in one book? Can’t actually remember how it ended….strange….will have to go dig it out again and read the last page!

Leave a Reply

