Cowgirl Yoga Retreat

Kelly and I had been reading about cowgirl yoga events in areas like Idaho and other far away locales.  We so badly wanted to participate, but the concept of driving and hauling horses for days to take the opportunity to relax just doesn’t fit into our lifestyle right now.

We decided that someone should have that here.  We looked around, and quickly realized that we were someone who could have that here.  After all, when you develop an event yourself it will be done exactly the way you want it to be.  Add to that the fact that when we create an event here rather than going to one in Idaho, we have the opportunity to generate wealth for our own region.   We created a name ‘KT and Company’, and set about organizing a cowgirl yoga retreat right here in Saskatchewan.

We put the word out, and 6 wonderful cowgirls were brave enough to step forward and join us on our inaugural Cowgirl Yoga Retreat.  It was too good not to write about, so what will follow is a few days of stories from our time away…..and by time away I don’t mean that we went to jail or anything.

Day 1 – Are your balls big enough??

One might think that I’m referring to a person’s nerve when setting out on a journey like ours, but I’m not.

I’m actually referring to the physical size of one’s balls…..in relation to your trailer hitch.

It was decided that Kelly would use the truck that her brother usually drives to pull our horses in my horse trailer.  We are very competent cowgirls, so it was no surprise that we hooked her truck to my trailer with the greatest of ease.  No problems whatsoever.  In fact, I noticed that it was even easier than usual to hook this truck to our trailer…which should have been my first clue that something wasn’t right.

We parked in front of the house and were finishing loading the last of our supplies when my hubby pulled up to say goodbye…..and to covertly give our truck and trailer one last look and make sure we had done everything correctly.  Which we hadn’t.

It turns out that Kelly’s brother’s ball was small.  I would never tell him this to his face, but I feel pretty brave typing it here in the relative safety and comfort of my home, knowing that he doesn’t generally read our blog.  That’ll teach him!  My husband took care of it for us though.  He swapped his larger ball for Kelly’s brother’s teeny tiny one and we were off on our adventure. 

Good thing that we found this out before we travelled the bumpy pothole filled road that is the highway to Turtle Lake Saskatchewan.  Left hand turn lights were a problem as well, but a little fix up with a pocket knife and we were highway ready.

Our first stop was the home of Murray and Linda Kopp. Murray was our trail guide for the cowgirl part of cowgirl yoga.  His yard is also where our horses were stabled for the weekend.

Horses enjoying a little down time.

Murray and Linda are wonderfully gracious and welcoming people.  They have open pens and a barn that were set up and ready to receive our 8 horses.  Murray was quick to offer hay and oats to anyone who needed it, and we helped him set up a big water trough to make it easy for us to water our horses when we returned from a big ride.  He seemed as excited about our retreat as we were!  Murray had just celebrated his 65th birthday on the day we arrived.  I mistook him for 40 years old.  Hopefully my mistake will ensure our being welcome to return next year.

After settling our horses for the night, we travelled the short distance to the Turtle River cabins on South Bay at Turtle Lake.  These cabins and the adjoining campground are owned by Marge and Darcy Dewar.  Marge and Darcy let us set up our cabins a day early so that all would be ready for the rest of the cowgirl yogis to arrive.

The cabins were perfect.  They were just the right size for two or three women, quaint and neat as a pin.  They are perfectly situated away from the hustle and bustle of the busy road, but only a very short walk from the public beach on South Bay at Turtle Lake.  If you are looking for a cabin to rent or for a campground to park your camper you can call Darcy or Marge at 306-845-2272

Here is where I would love to post one of the many pictures that I took of our cabins.  They had two bedrooms, a living room and a kitchen.  Kelly and I had decorated them a bit with some sweet peas from my garden and some bottles of wine that a friend had made.  However, due to my complete lack of computer savvy, it seems that I have lost those pictures.  If any resurface I will post them later.

So, with our cabins prepared and our own horses stabled, Kelly and I settled in for the night.  Well we tried to settle in, but like kids waiting for Santa we were excited for the days ahead which made sleep difficult….the midnight calls from my kids at home asking for help with a dog that was having puppies didn’t help either!  That bitch had great timing….I only say bitch in the most loving female dog sense.

With visions and dreams of sunny days riding through beautiful fall colored trails we drifted to sleep, excited to share our plans with our friends who would arrive in the morning.

“Well”, said Pooh, “What I like best”, and then he had to stop and think.  Because although eating honey was a very good thing to do, there was a moment just before you eat it which was better than when you were, but he didn’t know what it was called.      – A. A. Milne   from the story of Winnie the Pooh

<Terra>

6 responses to “Cowgirl Yoga Retreat

  1. You inspire me – not only to check my balls but to grasp life by the reins and make your own sunshine 🙂

  2. Awesome story!! I offer Cowgirl Yoga retreats here in New Mexico (even further from you guys than Idaho!) but I do have horses for rent if you ever wanted to fly in & enjoy our sunshine! 🙂 AND I’m available for travel if you want to add a natural horsemanship aspect to the learning curve of hitching up a trailer & yoga!

    Either way thanks for getting the word out, yoga & horses are an awesome combination & the more riders who start to apply yoga to their riding the more happy horses we will have!!

    • So happy you enjoyed this story. I hope you’ll check back for the next two that will talk about what we did during the retreat, I would love to get some feedback from you and compare notes with what you do in New Mexico.
      I agree that horses and yoga are wonderful together. It was a fantastic experience. Thanks for the invite to New Mexico – very tempting – especially with winter on its way!

  3. he get’s the recap…. eventually! He laughed! and is just more grateful his truck is back safe…. and there has been NO food or drink in it! Kelly’s banned!

  4. So glad he laughed – I was pretty sure he would. Did we spill in his truck?? I seriously doubt it, we are meticulously clean. 🙂

Leave a Reply

