Texas

I finally finished it, 1322 pages of small type. Yes I did have to wear reading glasses. When we took the train to Big Valley a month or so ago, I picked up the book,    Texas by James A. Michener at a used book store. Michener crafted a great historic novel. If high school history text books had been written the same way, I think I would have done better in that class. I also feel this way about the Phillipa Gregory novels about Henry the Eighth.  Texas is filled with colorful characters along with the political and social circumstances that shaped the Lone star state.  We travelled there a couple of years ago and now I wish I would have read the book first. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and learned many things. I think I may have to check out more of Michener’s work.

P.S. I am sorry but I cannot get my italics to work for the name of the book.

– Kelly

Leave a Reply

