One of ‘Those’ Days

I know that two posts in one day is sort of overdoing it, but this was too good not to share.

I have complained in the past about the fact that people have started calling me Ma’am.  I don’t feel old enough to deserve Ma’am, I still feel like a Miss or a Honey, but not a Ma’am.  Ma’am for me is a lady wearing a house dress and carrying a very large purse with curlers in her hair. 

                                                                                Go to fullsize image

 

But this afternoon I was called ‘Sir’.

                                                                        Go to fullsize image

I held the door for a man, and he said ‘Thankyou Sir…..oops, I mean Ma’am’.

Well, I don’t think I deserve Sir either.  Obviously a Sir would be a guy.  Probably with more facial hair than me, but some might dispute this.  If I didn’t have a sense of humor I would be having a very bad day right now.

It was bad enough to say ‘Thankyou Sir’.  But to follow with … ‘Oops, I mean Ma’am’ … just made it so much worse.

If you find yourself referring to a Miss as a Sir, just leave it go.  Don’t draw attention to the fact that you just called her a man.  Let her assume that she must have heard you wrong because she is clearly very feminine and no one would actually refer to her as Sir.

This person who called me Sir is also a doctor.  A very very old doctor whose vision is obviously failing.  Or maybe he just slept through that one anatomy class.

It has been a fantastic and hilarious day.  I am so glad that I get to share it with you.  Hope you laughed.

“Keep smiling – it makes people wonder what you’ve been up to.”     – Unknown

<Terra>

2 responses to “One of ‘Those’ Days

  1. What a great way to start my day – not one posting but two and both terrific! And yes, I did laugh out loud (not lol like all those younguns use, but a snorting belly laugh) when I read them both so if laughter is truly good for the soul, my soul got a jump start today.
    I think it’s funny that you refer to training the chickens – it sounds more like the chickens have trained the human!!!
    Have a good one – you made mine improve already.

    • Thanks Linnie, when you described your snorting belly laugh…..I mean your very lady-like chuckle…..it made me laugh too. And you’re right, I never thought about it, but the chickens are training me because I went out and fed them earlier today so there would be no more mishaps when the kids are trying to leave for school. They’re pretty smart.

Leave a Reply

