Saskatoon Jam

Saskatoon jam

Boiling the Saskatoons

One of the blogs I follow is A Canadian Foodie, acanadianfoodie.com. We met Valerie at a Culinary Tourism Workshop. Recently she had a Saskatoon berry jam recipe, which I was inspired to try. Her recipe was simple, always a draw for me.  Plus I had recently discovered a bag of frozen Saskatoons in the deep freeze that I wanted to use before next berry season. It didn’t take too long. I boiled it longer than the 15 minutes suggested as I did not think it was getting thick enough. However, after setting it is quite thick and really, really good.

Saskatoon Jam Recipe From A Canadian Foodie – acanadianfoodie.com

4 cups Saskatoons

3 cups sugar

1/4 cup water

Juice of 1/2 lemon = 3 TBSP

Crush Saskatoons in a Dutch oven. Heat gently until juice starts to flow.

Add sugar and water – bring to a boil stirring constantly.

Add lemon juice – bring to a boil, stir frequently until thick, about 15 minutes.

Pour into hot sterilized jars, leave 1/4 ” had space, wipe jar rims.

Seal and process in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes.

-Kelly

One response to “Saskatoon Jam

  1. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both equally
    educative and interesting, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something too few folks are speaking intelligently about. I’m very happy that I found this in
    my hunt for something regarding this.

Leave a Reply

