Sunday Family Meal

I have said this before – I am not a big fan of lamb.  However, in order to be taken seriously in my desire to keep ewes on our farm, I feel the need to develop a consumable end product.  Otherwise it would look like I just enjoy walking in the pasture with my sheep, cuddling their lambs and watching them frolic, building them little teeter-totters and other playthings….and that would just be weird….right?

Anyway, the great Jamie Oliver is quickly turning me into a lover of lamb chops and roasts.  In the past, I have marinated, lemon juiced and spiced in an attempt to hide the lamb flavor.  Reading Jamie’s cookbook I realize that he generally just rubs his lamb down with olive oil and a little salt and pepper.  This is really good!  In my past days of marination I would take a tiny piece of lamb, cover it in mashed potatoes so I couldn’t see it, and gag it down followed by a quick swig of something to mask any flavor that could be lamb.  Now, I go back for seconds…sometimes thirds.   I really am becoming a convert, and it will no doubt be easier for me to produce and sell lamb if I enjoy it myself. 

Tonight I made roasted leg of lamb with roasted veggies.   It’s very easy….

Mix together a tablespoon of salt and a teaspoon of pepper.  I used sea salt and freshly ground pepper, but use what you have available.  To this I added the leaves off a sprig of rosemary along with three leaves of sage.  I rubbed them all together with a pestle and mortar until I could smell the oil coming out of the herbs.  (Probably about 10 turns of the pestle).  You could also just mix these together in a bowl.  Rub this all onto the lamb.  Roast at 350 F for about 2 hours, depending on the size of your lamb roast.

lamb roast raw and spiced

Go sit for a while with a book and some wine while your lamb roasts for about an hour and a half.  Don’t drink too much wine or you will stop caring about supper and you’ll curl up for a nice nap on the sofa for the rest of the night while your dinner burns…or is that just me? 

Next, chop about 4 carrots, 3 celery ribs and one broccoli bunch into bite sized pieces.  Toss with a bit of olive oil, some vegetable spice and a dash of dill.  Roast in a separate pan along with the lamb for about 20 minutes.

Tossed veggies

When the lamb and veggies are done cooking, add a little sliced bread and you have a great Sunday family meal which is quick and easy to make.

Roasted lamb and veggie supper

This was super easy and really great.  I finished it off with this super easy and really great dessert…..

dilly bar….which I ate at my computer while posting this blog.  Shhhh….I hope no one in my family is reading this right now or they will want one too.  And it’s the last one.  And I ate it all by myself.  And they don’t even know that I had a stash of dilly bars in the freezer in the garage….     Kind of reminds me of the time I fooled my kids into thinking that the green jolly ranchers were my favorite so that they would eat all the yucky green ones and leave the delicious red and orange ones for me.  But, that’s a story for another day.

Go make some lamb.  It’s very delicious and healthy for you, especially if it’s young and grass fed.   See if you can find a lamb producer local to your area and you are likely to get some very good quality food for your table. 

<Terra>

Leave a Reply

