Counting My Blessings

Have you heard anything about Japan lately? 

I find myself feeling so thankful for very small things today.  I am thankful for my family, my cereal, my house, even just the ground beneath my feet.  I am thankful for my friends, my community and the road that I can drive to town on with almost no trouble at all.  I am thankful for my vehicle.  Even though I have been known to curse at it for not starting occasionally, it is not sitting in my kitchen right now, and I am sure that with a little coaxing I could encourage it to fire up and take me somewhere this afternoon.

I am thankful that, for now anyway, I am blessed to be able to watch this disaster unfold with horror and empathy for the people whose lives have been so devastated.  I am blessed because it has renewed my appreciation for all those small things that I can forget are so important.  I am lucky because I can sit and consider what my options are to help these people who have been so badly hurt through no fault of their own.

My sons have planned a trip to Japan for three weeks this summer.  I am so thankful that they are not there right now.  I am thankful to have been given the opportunity to consider their safety for another few weeks before deciding whether or not they will be allowed to go.

Sometimes I complain when the weather falls below, say -35 for a good three weeks or so.  Sometimes I complain even after one day of -25.   I never like it when it’s windy.  I want summer to be hot in the day and rainy at night.  I want spring to have less mud.  Don’t get me wrong, I will still be frustrated when the weather doesn’t fit my agenda.  However,  maybe I will remember to be thankful that the ground is stable, and that my family is safe.

What are you thankful for today?

<Terra>

Leave a Reply

