Cupcakes

Yesterday was a windy, kind of cold day.  The type of day that sent my sons outside to go play ball and sent me to the sofa to hibernate, watching a record-breaking number of movies, catching up on reading, that sort of thing.

This type of day drives our daughter up the wall.  She needs action.  She needs noise and company and parties and parades pretty much every day.  Watching her mother snooze and her dad work on the computer was completely unacceptable.  She couldn’t play ball with her brothers because this was a college event at which little sisters were not encouraged to attend. 

So she wandered the house, accidentally poking me or coughing on me then apologizing for waking me up.  Asking me what we were going to do today over and over again, not happy with the answer she was getting.  Trying a little bit of ‘I don’t feel well’ in an attempt to get someone to pay attention to her, but quickly changing her tune when I suggested she have a nap.

Our kids have always had very busy schedules.  We rarely have a day like the one I’m describing, so when I hear any of our kids say ‘I’m bored’, I always reply with excitement at how great that is.  It’s the opportunity to be unscheduled and explore anything you want to.  It’s an opportunity to try something new, or to sit and think and form opinions on things you are too busy to consider most days.  They have never liked this response, but they usually choose these suggestions over my classic “go clean the toilets if you have nothing to do”.

Yesterday, as I explored the earth in disc 2 of our National Geographic movie set, I could hear our girl in the kitchen.  I knew she was bored, so this would mean she would make a box of macaroni, or possibly some soup.  What a surprise when she presented us with these gorgeous cupcakes made entirely by herself from scratch.Tressa's cupcakes 

Here is the recipe she used:

  • 7 tbsp butter
  • 2 eggs              
  • 1.5 cups sugar    
  • 1 cup milk          
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2.5 cups flour
  • 2 tsp vanilla

Blend the dry ingredients with the butter until it resembles sand.

Separately mix the wet ingredients and slowly add to the dry, stirring to combine until it’s smooth.

Spoon into cupcake shells and bake at 350F for 15 to 20 minutes, or until risen and springy.

Allow to cool and ice with buttercream icing.   To make buttercream icing, beat 2.5 cups of icing sugar with 1/2 cup of butter.  Separately, mix 2 tablespoons of milk with a teaspoon of vanilla and add drop by drop to the butter sugar mixture until smooth.  Turn up to high-speed and whip until very fluffy.

I can assure you that this is a really easy recipe for kids to try.  I was not even in the room when these were made.  Our daughter has a binder that she started with her own favorite recipes.  This one is now in her binder and she has written on it “very easy!” and “very delicious”.  I would have to agree.

<Terra>

 

Leave a Reply

