Rum Raisin Icecream? Rice Pudding

I don’t like rice pudding.  However, I do like Rum.  This seemed like a good recipe to try, and it turned out amazing!

Here’s the recipe:

1.5 cups raisins stirred into 4 heaping tablespoons of rum   😉  Put into a bowl and set aside.

3 cups cooked white rice.

In a medium saucepan stir 6 cups of half and half cream and 1 cup of sugar into the rice.  Heat it up and boil for about 15 minutes until creamy.

Add 1 beaten egg and continue cooking for 2 to 3 minutes.

Take the pudding away from heat and stir in the raisin/rum mixture.  Stir in 3 tsp vanilla and serve warm or chilled.

That is how the actual recipe goes.  I however made some adjustments which turned out beautifully.  Feel free to follow my lead if you wish……

I did not check to make sure I had all the ingredients for this recipe before I got started.  When it came time to add half and half cream I realized that it had been used up in some kids’ hot chocolate.  Thats OK though because I can use milk and it will be lower fat….except that I had forgotten that all three of my kids are home this weekend which means the 4 gallons of milk that I bought yesterday are gone.  SO I substituted icecream for the half and half in the pudding.

I first checked to make sure there was actually milk listed as an ingredient in my icecream, and then proceeded to carefully measure about 1/2 of my partially eaten tub into the pot.  I think it would have equalled about 5 cups.

I also forgot all about adding vanilla at the end.

Despite these little setbacks the pudding turned out beautifully.  I think that Jamie Oliver would have been proud.  Go for it.  It would appear that rice pudding recipes are very forgiving, so have fun!

<Terra>

4 responses to “Rum Raisin Icecream? Rice Pudding

  1. As for butter versus margarine, I trust cows more than chemists. ~Joan Gussow

    • I agree. Great quote! I just learned from my son in college that margarine left on the counter for a number of days becomes unrecognizable, with many different colors of mold taking over.

      When he told me this, all I had to say was “why are you eating margarine?” He thinks I missed his point.

  2. I just wanted to cofirm the type of rice that was used. I heard a rumour about Minute Rice??

    • You are so funny anonymous commenter. I used my good arborio rice that I keep to make squash risotto. I used this because you told me that minute rice wouldn’t work. Now I have this big box of minute rice in my pantry and I have not yet formulated a plan for it. I may save it to throw at one of our children’s weddings. Or I might give it to you for your birthday…that would be funny.

Leave a Reply

